Tabouli Salad

Let me begin by thanking all my blog fans for your inquiries. It’s nice to know that when I don’t post, people notice. This month has been a whirlwind of family, weddings, and travel…and it’s not over. Throw in a trip for work and I hit 4 states in 5 days last week. Needless to say, I haven’t been doing a lot of cooking. In anticipation of this busy stretch, I’d banked a few ideas but I lost the pictures of my creations in a cellphone mishap. So I’ll have to recreate and post at a later date. In the meantime, I was actually home for 4-nights and 5-days this week and managed to get to work in the kitchen. The weather has been so nice, I wanted fresh, delicious flavors that said “summer is here!”

WP_20140625_010First up: Greek Tabouli Salad. This traditional middle eastern dish gets a kick of Greek flavor with some feta cheese. Sometimes I make tabouli completely from scratch but this time I cheated. I used the Near East wheat salad mix as the base. This includes the fine ground wheat and a packet of seasoning. Then I added my own favorite ingredients to really kick up the flavor.

Greek Tabouli Salad

  • 1 package of wheat salad mix
  • 1/4 seedless cucumber, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 tbsp. finely chopped fresh basil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 – 1 cup crumbled feta (start with 1/2 cup and add more to taste)
  • A pinch of love

WP_20140625_008

 

Prepare the wheat salad as called for on the box. Typically, you pour one cup of boiling water over the wheat and seasoning, stir, cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes (or until the water is absorbed and the wheat has fluffed up).

 

WP_20140625_009

 

When the wheat is fluffy and moist, add the cucumber, tomatoes, basil, lemon, olive oil, feta and love.  Stir.

 

 

WP_20140625_011

Chill before serving and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment